19-10-2016.

Dear Love,
 

There are a lot of things that I can’t promise you.

I can’t promise you that I will start to like bittergourd. Seriously, it’s so bitter, I can’t even imagine why would you like to put any dishes based on it in your mouth, not to mention chew it happily and smiling. I don’t understand, and I don’t think I ever will understand why it’s good.

I can’t promise to always be kind, especially when I’m upset. As you may know, I rarely get upset, but when I do, it’s something else. My anger and my head could get the best of me. Although I’m not that explosive and all, but believe me that I do understand that I might be at my worst when I’m upset about something.

And maybe most honestly, I can’t promise you things will be easy.

We are going to have moments when everything is piling up and it feels like too much. We’re going to have moments like that one you have right now– where everything is just so gloom and there doesn’t seem like an easy and instant way out of the situation you are in right now. And if that’s solved, it doesn’t stop there: we’re going to have to work and work, and when we’re so exhausted from all that work, we’re going to have to work more. I never expected life to be a cake walk.

So sure, there are a lot of things that I can’t promise you. Maybe this will sounds like a laundry list of things that I can’t give to you– maybe this will sounds like the most unromantic set of vows ever, I know.

But I can promise you this: I will never abandon you when things get dark.

When things get uncertain and frightening, I will be there to hold your hand. Okay, I might probably be scared, too. And know that I can’t promise calm guidance or an instant fix. But I will be there for you. I will be there.

For all the times you’ve been the strong one, I will do the same. You can lean on me when things are tough and you’re questioning your own strength, or even self-worth. And even if, let’s say, we both fall to the ground, I’ll be there helping you brush the dirt from your knees.

Love, life is not something we both can ever promise. I know that even though I made several promises to you. Life is always changing and evolving, and even you and I are going to be different people 10 or 20 years down the road.

But the promise I can make, and, more importantly, the one I can keep is that I’ll be there for you. And, when the darkness comes – as cheesy and as stupid as this might sounds – I will find a flashlight for you.

Love, know that I’ll be the light when you’re afraid it will never come.

 

Love,
Yours.

V.A.C.W.
01:07

Leave a Reply

