Tick; Tick; Tick.

 

I had enough.

Tick;                                                             
Tick;
                                                             Tick.

I’m getting tired of the obnoxious sounds of the clock ticking.
I found myself just waiting for the next tick.
I hated knowing that it will happen every second.

                                                             Tick;
Tick;
Tick.                                                             

I don’t usually hate the sound of the clock ticking.
But it was quiet, and all I could hear and concentrate on was the ticking sound.
And I began to hear her name in the ticking sound.

Tick;                                                             
Tick;
                                                             Tick.

It was as if the clock is teaching me how to spell her name correctly;
on how to spell all three syllables of her name, one syllable for each tick;
in one-two-three fashion.

                                                             One;
Two;
Three.                                                             

                                                             Tick;
Tick;
Tick.                                                             

I stood up on my bed, and took down the clock that has been on my wall for 11 years;
I held it for awhile; and I threw it down to the floor;
shattering its glass lid and its battery housing.
And the whole world went silent.
Just for a brief moment.

Tick;                                                             
Tick;
                                                             Tick.

I closed my ears with my both hands, but I could still hear the ticking sound;
it echoes in my head.
The sequence – the same ticking sound – was already imprinted on my brain.
Still her name; still three syllables.
Still in the same repeating one-two-three sequence.

                                                             Tick;
Tick;
Tick.                                                             

Am I going crazy from love? Am I treading down the path of insanity?

Tick;                                                             
Tick;
                                                             Tick.

Is this how it feels like to be truly and completely madly in love?

                                                             Tick;
Tick;                                                             
Tick.

 

V.A.C.W.
23:23

 

Leave a Reply

