19-12-2015.

05:59

I looked at my phone.

She messaged me a story.
It’s a fable(?) about frog in a boiling water.
I was about to tell you lot to google it yourself, but, let me just put the story here:

If you drop a frog in a pot of boiling water, it will of course frantically try to clamber out. But if you place it gently in a pot of tepid water and turn the heat on low, it will float there quite placidly. As the water gradually heats up, the frog will sink into a tranquil stupor, exactly like one of us in a hot bath, and before long, with a smile on its face, it will unresistingly allow itself to be boiled to death.

The boiling frog story is generally offered as a metaphor.
Cautioning people to be aware of even gradual change.
Lest they suffer eventual undesirable consequences.
Well, the story actually made me thinking.
I need to be aware of myself.
Perhaps I should take a better care of myself.
My sleeping pattern is indeed undeniably messy.
My head hurts.
And my body aches everywhere.

I remember what someone said to me,

“If you keep on doing what you’re doing, you won’t live to see your 30s. Just, you know, sleep before 1 or 2 am. Get plenty of rest. You might feel normal right now, but you’ll gradually deteriorating. So move your ass to your bed right about now.”

I don’t exactly remember who said that.
One of my friends from abroad? Perhaps.
But yeah, what they said are actually right.
I need to fix my sleeping pattern.
And not only me. She needs to fix hers too.

She said to me that her metabolism has changed.
She sleeps in the morning and wakes up in the afternoon.
Well, honestly that’s an awful excuse for a messed up sleeping pattern.
Perhaps she’s just too stubborn to realize it herself.

Although sometimes, when I write things, there’s this urge to complete something unfinished.
I have to do something about that.
I’ll figure it out later.

And I want to read and write some more right now.
But I’m super sleepy.
I just thought that I’d write something before going to sleep.

I’ll continue to write something later.

……

Dear Love,

I actually hate fables.
Especially the one with a confusing meaning behind it.
I personally think it’s stupid.
Well, animals that could talk and do things?
Yeah I know it wasn’t really a fable.
It was just a general story with a meaning behind it.
But I still hate fables.

Don’t worry, I just woke up when I replied your message.
I’m trying to fix my sleeping pattern.
And I think I’ll also fix my reading and writing time.
You, of all people, should fix your sleeping pattern, too.

Just don’t be so stubborn and reckless to yourself.
Usually, you are being too hard on yourself in every matter.
In problems, in small things, everything.
Remember that time when you didn’t eat anything for a day?
That’s just how reckless you were.

Love yourself more.
You should Love yourself as much as I Love you.
I know you will never understand just how much I really Love you.
To the moon and back is just too short of a distance to be compared with my Love to you.

If only you could look at yourself through my eyes..
Then you’d understand.

Love,
Yours.

V.A.C.W.

 


image

Leave a Reply

