Withdrawal.

She stood at the door.
Her gaze was fixed on me –
full of meaning.

Was it contempt ?
Distrust ?
Fear ?
All I know it was
a well-hidden feeling.

She opened her mouth,
her lips began to move
but not a single word came out.

Her small body trembled;
Tears swelled in her eyes.
She turned back,
went inside her room.
Her every move
filled with doubt.

I called her name, slowly.
She glanced back
over her shoulder,
hesitating for a moment.
She shook her head.

“I want to be alone.”
She whispered,
her voice cracked,
as she closed the door,
locked it hurriedly.
Leaving her thoughts
left unsaid.

I sat in front of the door,
knocked it gently,
called her name,
whispered love.
Waiting for her reply;
Quietly listening.

She replied;
She answered,
out loud;
With silence.
And it was deafening.

 
V.A.C.W.

 

I understand that you’re scared;
I get that you’ve been hurt.
But I want you to know that no matter what, you are going to be okay.
We are going to be okay.

Trust that. Believe that. Know that.
Have faith.

Leave a Reply

